

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

2017-05-18

Praxair Canada Inc.

Ms. Sheryl Nisenbaum Praxair Canada Inc. 1 City Center Drive, Suite 1200 Mississauga, ON L5B 1M2 E-mail: sheryl_nisenbaum@praxair.com

Teck Resources Limited

Mr. Larry Bartlett, General Manager Teck Resources Limited Duck Pond Operations P.O. Box 9 Millertown, NL A0H 1V0 E-mail: larry.bartlett@teck.com

Dear Sirs/Madams:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – Amended General Rate Application – Compliance Application – Order No. P.U. 49(2016) - Industrial Customer RSP – Recovery of Revenue Deficiencies from Industrial Customer Load Variation Component Credit Balance – Request for Comments

Attached please find a copy of correspondence to the Board from the Industrial Customer Group (Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Limited and NARL Refining Limited) dated May 15, 2017 and from Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro dated May 16, 2017.

The correspondence from the Industrial Customer Group outlines an agreement between the Island Industrial Customer Group and Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited on the disposition of the balance in the Load Variation account allocated to the Island Industrial customers. Hydro indicates in its correspondence that the agreement would reduce the credit balance available to offset electricity costs of Teck Resources Limited and Praxair Canada Inc. by approximately \$16,000 over time. Hydro also indicates that it does not object to this proposal.

Further information is available on the Board's website or by contacting Ms. Jacqui Glynn, Legal Counsel for the Board at jglynn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781. Please submit any comments you may wish to make to the Board on the agreement by Friday, May 26, 2017.

Yours truly,

Andon

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

CB/rr

Enclosures

ecc

<u>Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro</u> Ms. Tracey Pennell, E-mail: traceypennell@nlh.nl.ca Mr. Geoff Young, Email: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com Mr. Liam O'Brien, E-mail: lobrien@curtisdawe.com

NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com

Consumer Advocate Mr. Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com Mr. Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com

Ms. Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Ms. Bernice Bailey, E-mail: bbailey@bfma-law.com

Industrial Customer Group Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca

Innu Nation Mr. Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com

Ms. Nancy Kleer, E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com

Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, Q.C., E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Mr. Jason Callan, E-mail: jason.callan@vale.com

Nunatslavut Government Ms. Genevieve Dawson, E-mail: gdawson@bensonbuffett.com Ms. Christina Goldhar, E-mail: christina_goldhar@nunatsiavut.com Mr. Christopher Henderson, E-mail: chenderson@lumosenergy.com

<u>Yvonne Jones MP, Labrador</u> E-mail: Yvonne.Jones.A1@parl.gc.ca;Yvonne.Jones.C1@parl.gc.ca